Skip to content
Home » Occupational Qualification Standards

Occupational Qualification Standards

Occupational qualification standard (OQS) is a document which describes occupational activities and provides the competency requirements for occupational qualifications and their levels.

OQS consists of three parts. Part A of the standard (description of the occupation) provides an overview of the nature of work, major units of work and tasks, necessary tools, work environment, incl. the specificities of work and describes the personal characteristics and skills enhancing occupational activities. This is a source of information for a person upon selection of an occupation and shaping his or her career path. This also contains useful information for the career advisers, labour market consultants, human resources managers and trainers.

The competence requirements presented in part B of the standard serve as a basis for the assessment of the applicant for the occupational qualification. These requirements are presented as descriptions of mandatory and optional competences. Competence is an ability to perform a specific unit of work or a task together with the knowledge, skills and attitudes required for that. Proceeding from the nature of the occupation, its specificity and traditions, attesting competences related to a specialisation or optional competences may be the prerequisite for being awarded the occupational qualification.

Part C of the standard contains general information and references to annexes.

Main principles of awarding occupational qualifications

Awarding of occupational qualifications follows the following principles:

  • competence-based approach: bases for assessment of occupational qualification are real skills and knowledge;
  • is voluntary, unless otherwise prescribed by law;
  • assessment is separated and independent from teaching;
  • takes place on the basis of person’s application;
  • occupational qualification examination is for a fee.

Activity Instructor, level 4

Activity Instructor, level 5

Applied Architect, level 6

Architectural Conservationist, level 6

Architectural Conservationist, level 7

Architectural Conservationist, level 8

Assistant Baker, level 3

Assistant Coach, level 3

Assistant Cook, level 3

Assistant Waiter, level 3

Assistant, level 6

Assisting Gardener, level 2

Assistive Technology Specialist, level 5

Automatician, Automation Technician, level 5

Automatician, level 4

Baker, level 4

Bartender, level 4

Bartender, level 5

Biogas Plant Operator, level 5

Biomedical (Laboratory) Scientist, level 6

Biomedical Scientist, level 6

Business Administration Specialist, level 5

Chartered Architect, level 7

Chartered Architect-Expert, level 8

Chartered Interior Architect, level 7

Chartered Landscape Architect, level 7

Chartered Landscape Architect-Expert, level 8

Chartered Specialist in Energy Performance of Buildings, level 8

Civil Engineer, level 7

Clerical Staff, level 4

CNC Machine Operator, level 4

CNC Machine Operator, level 5

CNC Sheet Metal Machine Tools Operator level 4

CNC Sheet Metal Machine Tools Operator, level 5

Coach, level 5

Concrete Worker, level 4

Concrete Worker, level 4, Initial occupational qualification

Conventional Machine Tool Operator, level 3

Cook, level 4

Customer Service Manager, level 6

Diploma Architect, level 7

Diploma Interior Architect, level 7

Diploma Landscape Architect, level 7

Diploma Specialist in Energy Performance of Buildings, level 7

Docker, level 3

Docker, level 4

Electronic Equipment Assembler, level 2

Electronic Equipment Assembler, level 3

Electronic Equipment Technician, level 4

Elite Coach, Level 8

Energy Auditor, level 6

Explosive Ordnance Disposal 1, level 4

Explosive Ordnance Disposal 2, level 4

Explosive Ordnance Disposal 3, level 5

Explosive Technician, level 5

Explosive Technician-Instructor, level 6

Fish Farmer, level 4

Forest Specialist, level 5

Forester, level 4

Forwarder Operator, level 4

Fruit and Vegetable Processor, level 4

Gardener, level 4

Gardener’s Assistant, level 3

Groom, level 4

Harvester Operator, level 4

Interior Architect, level 6

Interior Architect-Expert, level 8

Junior Coach, level 4

Land Survey Technician, level 4

Land Surveyor, level 5

Land Surveyor, level 6

Land Surveyor, level 7

Layer of Biogas Technology Technician, level 4

Logger, level 2

Logger, level 3

Machine Tool Operator, level 4

Machine Tool Operator, level 5

Master Chef, level 5

Master Coach, level 7

Master Teacher, level 8

Mechatronic, level 4

Mechatronic-Technician, level 5

Physiotherapist, level 6

Physiotherapist, level 7

Purchasing Manager, level 6

Pyrotechnician, level 3

Pyrotechnician, level 4

Pyrotechnician, level 5

Quality Manager, level 7

Quality Specialist, level 5

Quality Specialist, level 6

Records Manager, level 6

Rural Advisor, level 5

Rural Advisor, level 6

Rural Advisor, level 7

Scenic Artist, level 6

Secretary, level 5

Senior Biomedical (Laboratory) Assistant, level 7

Senior Coach, level 6

Senior Gardener, level 5

Senior Scenic Artist, level 7

Senior Teacher, level 7

Senior Waiter, level 5

Small Business Entrepreneur, level 5

Spa Therapist, level 4

Spatial Planner, level 7

Supply Chain Manager, level 7

Teacher, level 6

Teacher, level 7

The Adult Educator, level 5

The Adult Educator, level 6

The Adult Educator, level 7

The Adult Educator, level 8

Tree Technician, level 5

Tree Worker, level 4

Waiter, level 4

Welder, level 3

Welder, level 4

Woodworking Bench Operator, level 3

Veterinary Assistant, level 4

Skip to content